Connecticut Science Teachers Association

" inspire, promote and support the learners of science in the state of Connecticut."

Awards       Grants

Connecticut Science Teachers Association presents awards in support of excellence in science teaching, science learning, and support of science in Connecticut. We partner with other organizations on several awards that are given jointly. The following awards are available. Please consider nominating yourself or another worthy individual for recognition.

Excellence in Science Teaching Awards

This award is bestowed on teachers who have not only demonstrated excellence in classroom science teaching, but who have also contributed professionally by providing workshops and/or other support for colleagues, have demonstrated dedication to personal and professional growth by participating in conferences and workshops, and have been productive participants in extra-curricular activities and community projects.

The Connecticut Science Teacher Association gives three 'Excellence In Science Teaching' awards each year: Elementary, Middle School, and Secondary.
These awards recognize and honor teachers who epitomize the highest ideals of the teaching profession by:

  • Being effective and innovative classroom teachers of science  
  • Serving as role models for colleagues and providing outreach to colleagues through workshops, publications, school-wide projects, or special events. 
  • Demonstrating a genuine commitment to personal and professional growth (life-long learning) by attendance and active participation at conferences, workshops, graduate courses, and in-service sessions. 
  • Reaching out beyond their classrooms and using their knowledge and talents in community service programs and projects.

Teaching Experience: At least five years of successful science teaching.

Nomination: Online application

Approval: The CSTA Awards committee will review all applications submitted on time. 

To nominate a candidate, please complete this Form.  Nominations must be received by April 26, 2023.

Ralph and Ruth Yulo New Teacher Award

This award honors two exemplary Connecticut Science educators who spent many years working with new and established teachers to promote best practices in science education.   It recognizes new teachers who have shown promise in science education.   Criteria

  • Membership in CSTA is not a requirement
  • In the first 3 years of the teaching profession and currently teaching science in a K-12 classroom.
  • Recognized for remarkable achievement, accomplishment, and promise as a science educator.
  • Recipients will receive membership in CSTA.
  • If awardee presents at the next conference, registration will be waived.
  • Awardee will be invited to Awards Celebration to be recognized. 
To nominate a candidate, please complete this Form. Nominations must be received by April 25, 2023.

Dr. Sigmund Abeles Science Advocate Award

The Connecticut Science Teachers Association (CSTA) and the Connecticut Science Supervisors Association (CSSA) established this joint award to honor Dr. Sigmund Abeles, State Science Consultant emeritus, for his outstanding leadership and service to science education in Connecticut.

The award is designed to recognize individuals or organizations that have demonstrated staunch advocacy for science education in Connecticut as evidenced by their substantial and sustained support and contributions. Advocacy can take many forms including funds and/or personnel to provide students and teachers with materials, support services, and workshops. It can also consist of contributions of leadership, energy, ideas, innovations, and/or other resources and talents. 

Past Awardees can be found here

Nominate an individual or organization for the Dr. Sigmund Abeles Science Advocate Award

Send nominations to by April 21,2023.

Connecticut Science Educator Fellow (CSEF)

The Connecticut Science Educator Fellow Award is the highest and most prestigious award given by the Connecticut Science Teachers Association  to a science teacher who has given sustained and outstanding service to science education in Connecticut. It is bestowed to an individual who has:

(1) Been previously recognized for exemplary science teaching,
(2) Provided active and sustained service to one or more state science organizations, and

(3) Has taught for at least twenty years.

Nominate an educator for the Connecticut Science Educator Fellow Award

Send nominations to by April 21,2023.

Babu George STEM Award 

Presented to a team/club, group or an individual who has been involved in a major STEM project or initiative within their school district or at large in Connecticut. 

This award is sponsored by Sacred Heart University and administered by CSTA.   The Connecticut Science Supervisors Association established this award to honor Babu George, a former Sacred Heart University professor, for his outstanding service to science teachers in Connecticut.

Nomination Process

Nominate an educator for the Babu George STEM Award.

Any member of CSTA or CSSA may nominate a candidate. Nominations may also be submitted by a colleague, administrator or by self nomination by April 21,2023.

All nominations will be reviewed by the members of the CSTA award committee.


The nominee may be a K-12 educator, a team/club, a group or individual who ~

  • has developed innovative educational experiences in the field of science, technology, engineering, and math 
  • has demonstrated leadership in the growth and development of a STEM program/team
  • fosters a passion for STEM education 
  • Will present their program/ideas on a topic of their choice at a future meeting.

CSTA Lifetime Achievement Distinguished Educator Award

         This award is given to a person who has dedicated long term service to science education in Connecticut.  This individual has selflessly given time and effort to promote science education on a volunteer basis to the benefit of many.    

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The 2022-23 nomination and application windows for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) program will open this summer. Teachers of grades 7-12 mathematics, science, engineering and computer science are encouraged to sign up to apply or nominate a deserving educator. 

For more information, please visit

Student Awards

Marty Tafel Scholarship Awards

Two $500 scholarships are awarded each year to the winners of the eight grade Connecticut Science Fair in Life Sciences, and Physical Sciences. The Science Fair is held yearly in March. These scholarships are funded by a bequest to CSTA from Connecticut educator Marty Tafel.

 National Youth Science Camp

CSTA accepts applications yearly for 2 scholarships that cover the costs of a Connecticut graduating senior to participate in the National Youth Science Camp. Applications are open in the early spring.

Teacher Grants

The Connecticut Science Teachers Association provides one or two small grants ($250-$500) each year to CSTA members to provide support for research, innovation, or enrichment activities not usually covered in normal school or institutional budgets.

Applications are due by April 15 each year.            

View the grant rubric

"Connecticut Science Teachers Association" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 5, Middletown, CT 06457 Copyright 2016 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software